Customer Doesn't Pick Up Badge

Alkraas

Hello!

I'm a digital artist from Germany and offer an additional service where I print the artwork out, laminate it and then ship the artwork to customers. They receive a digital copy and a physical one, so to speak.

However. I'm facing an incident where a customer should have their badge delivered by USPS, yet wasn't home. I always ship with tracking and signature. USPS left a note to either let the customer pick the badge up at their office or that they could schedule a re-delivery.

This note was left on the 7th of March. On the 21st, USPS will ship the badge back to me. What do I do with a customer who doesn't pick up/receives their badge? I have made them aware of this incident but nothing got resolved as of yet. I have no idea what to do...

@Mortymaxwell

1) Yes, they did reply to me. I reminded them today again and they said they'd try to get the badge.

2) They're not on vacation, though they told me they're fairly busy with college, but they can schedule a re-delivery with USPS via phone or via a filled out form on their website. Age is unknown but they did mention their dad in a voicemail.

3) Yes, a tracking number was given to the customer. I also entered the tracking number into Paypal's system under "add tracking information" on the same day I shipped the badge off. Paypal has the tracking number attached to the payment.

This is what I would do. Keep following up with them. If they don't get their badge and it gets sent back give them the choice of printing the digital file themselves or having the badge sent one more time. If they request you try again, ask if there is a better address, like a workplace, student mail box on campus, or their dad you can send it to.

Then update your terms of service to cover what will happen if a customer doesn't receive their artwork.  It would be a good idea to have a clause too if someone refuses to pick up their item.